Family

Diaper Free in Three Days

Today marks Liam’s 1 year anniversary of being potty trained. To celebrate I wanted to share our potty training technique and how I got him out of diapers and into underwear in 3 days.

I first researched for a couple of months the signs of when your toddler is ready to potty train. I found things like hiding when going in their diaper, being curious when seeing someone use the bathroom, being dry for long periods of time (including nap time), and Liam was showing them all. He was 2 years and 3 months old so I knew the day was coming. As a mom who was 17 weeks pregnant I was so not ready for this. I didn’t want to be stuck in the bathroom all summer trying to train a toddler, but I also didn’t want 2 kids in diapers so I sucked it up and made a plan.

Since I wasn’t working and it was just the two of us, I wanted to skip pull ups and go straight to underwear. We went to the store and he got to pick out 2 of his favorite character underwear. I then went to the dollar tree and purchased a plastic bucket, 8 special prizes and stickers (I’ll explain these later on). Pull-ups has a great app with a timer and games, plus it’s FREE!

Now that I had all the supplies I designed a chart and placed it where Liam could reach. Every time Liam went potty he would receive one sticker for #1 and two stickers for #2. I labeled the bucket I purchased as “Potty Prize” and filled the bucket with the 8 prizes. Every time he filled up a sheet he got to pick a prize. I printed 8 charts to achieve the 8 prizes. I wasn’t sure how well he would do and wanted to give him lots of practice.

Liam and I spent 3 days at home and he lived in just his underwear. I had him drink lots of water and we set a timer for every 40 min. We continued to keep a diaper on him for naptime and overnight. After two months I noticed Liam continually being dry when he woke up from his naps. By September he was wearing underwear during naptime and October he was completely out of diapers.

liam potty
Liam and his first potty prize

My fellow parents, this was my sweet and simple instructions but just know consistency and lots of praise go a long way. It was frustrating, exciting, and exhausting at times, but to see them master such a huge skill will be rewarding for the whole family (not to mention more money in your pocket). Below you will find four cute potty charts that you and your child can personalize. Remember this is a big step for everyone and stay positive!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Diaper Free in Three Days”

Leave a Reply

